Clarion Dances

Brass ensemble

For 12-piece symphonic brass ensemble.


Program Note

Clarion Dances for 12-piece symphony brass ensemble was commissioned and premiered in 1993 by the Clarion Brass Ensemble. It is scored for 4 trumpets, 4 horns, 2 tenor trombones, bass trombone, and tuba.

The work is a succession of dance-like sections, each related thematically to the motive heard in the slow introduction. The title refers not to specific dance forms, but to the way in which rhythmic persistence is present throughout the work.
“The jewel of (the) performance…a delight, full of little surprises as sonorities and rhythms shift like skillful dance partners.” Spokane Spokesman-Review


Order online